Our own Phoenix MacLaren has been awarded the Rotary International Award of Honor by R.I. President Barry Rassin. This award is given by the President with the support of the Board of Directors, during #Rotaract 19. Phoenix is in amazing company with previous recipients including 6 Kings, I Queen, 35 Country Presidents, 2 Princes, 1 Princess, a former Secretary General of the U.N. and a Pope. CONGRATULATIONS Phoenix. For more info & Past Recipients CLICK HERE

Rotary Award of Honor Basic Facts

  • The President gives the RI Award of Honor during the presidential year.
  • There are no forms or applications to recommend an honoree.
  • Honorees are chosen at the discretion of the President, with the concurrence of the Board of Directors.
  • A certificate in a special presentation folder and a medal, as well as a letter from the President, accompanies the Award.
  • The certificate and the medal are either presented by the President (hand-carried) or presented by a representative of the President (sent to the representative by the fastest mail service.)
  • Names are listed on the plaque by the President’s office.

Past Recipients


His Royal Highness Prince Andrew BertieGrand Master, Military Order of Malta
George BushPresident, United States of America
Mikhail Sergeivitch GorbachevPresident, United Soviet Socialist Republic
Dr. Carlos Salinas de GortariPresident, United Mexican States
Margaret Thatcher, M.P.Prime Minister, United Kingdom
His Majesty Bhumibol AdulyadejKing of Thailand
Fernando Collor de MelloPresident, Federative Republic of Brazil
F.W. de KlerkPresident, Republic of South Africa
Helmut KohlChancellor, Federal Republic of Germany
President SoehartoPresident, Republic of Indonesia
Fidel Valdez RamosPresident, Republic of the Philippines
His Majesty Carl XVI GustafKing of Sweden
Carlos Saul MenemPresident, Republic of Argentina
William Jefferson ClintonPresident, United States of America
Dr. Luis Alberto LacallePresident, Republic of Uruguay
His Majesty Hassan IIKing of Morocco
Lech WalesaPresident, Republic of Poland
Kim Young SamPresident, Korea
His Majesty Tuanku Jaafar Ibni Al Marhum TuankuKing of Malaysia
His Serene Highness Prince RanierPrince of Monaco
His Majesty King HusseinKing of Jordan
Dr. Rafael CalderaPresident, Venezuela
Dr. Fernando Henrique CardosaPresident, Federative Republic of Brazil
Nelson MandelaState President, Republic of South Africa
Dr. Shankar Dayal SharmaPresident, Republic of India
Ezer WeizmanPresident, Israel
Kofi AnnanSecretary General of the United Nations
Ryutaro HashimotoPrime Minister of Japan
Alvaro Arzu IrigoyenPresident of Guatemala
Mohammed Hosny MubarakPresident, Arab Republic of Egypt
Eduardo Frei Ruiz-TaglePresident of Chile
Lee Teng-huiPresident of Taiwan
Sir Sigmund SternbergEngland
None was awarded in 1998-99 or 1999-2000 
Ahmet Necdet SezerPresident of Turkey
Vicente Fox QuesadaPresidente Constitucional de los Estado Unidos Mexicanos
George W. BushPresident of the United States of America
Chen Shui-bianPresident of the Republic of China
Jerry LewisUnited States of America
Ronald Reagan40th President of the United States of America
His Majesty Don Juan Carlos IKing of Spain
Her Majesty Queen SilviaQueen of Sweden
Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri SirindhornPrincess of Thailand
His Excellency Dr. Bakili MuluziPresident of the Republic of Malawi
H.E. General Emile LahoudPresident of the Republic of Lebanon
His Excellency Levy P. Mwanawasa S.C.President of the Republic of Zambia
Chief Olusegun ObasanjoPresident of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
Gloria Macapagal ArroyoPresident of the Republic of the Philippines
Arnold Ruutel,President of Estonia
Dr. Genshitu SenRetired Grand Tea Master, Japan
King Mohamed VIKing of Morocco
First Lady Laura BushWife of the President of the United States of America
None was awarded in 2005-06 or 2006-07 
In Sang SongPast RI Director; Past TRF Trustee
His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI 
Giorgio NapolitanoPresident, Republic of Italy
Ban Ki-moon
Secretary GeneralUnited Nations
Lee Kuan YewMinister Mentor, Republic of Singapore